Backing up the Data Center Operation server and restoring the backup is used for example when upgrading from certain versions of DCO to the latest version.

Backups can only be restored to a Data Center Operation server of the same or newer product release.

The backup of the Data Center Operation server is a database backup. It does not include server and OS configuration settings, such as configuration of server time, locale, remote backup settings. To ensure backup of any customized server configuration files, verify that your enterprise backup system backs up these files. Otherwise, after restoring a backup, you must configure server and OS settings again. Ensure you have a copy of all installed license keys and network settings prior to restore.

Running a backup

By default, the system backs up to a local backup directory on the same disk.

  1. Open the web client and login with a user with the System Configuration permission.
  2. Navigate to the Backup and Restore page, by clicking the.
  3. Click 'Schedule Backup' to start a backup immediately. This will save a backup in the default location /data/backup* or see here for information about scheduling regular backup jobs.

While the backup is being performed a log is shown that shows the status of the backup job. The log can be minimised without interrupting the backup process.

Recommendation

It is highly recommended that you save backups to a remote location.

Configuring a remote backup

On the Backup and Restore page you can configure a remote backup location.
Prerequisite: To enable saving the backup on your network, mount the folder in which to save the backup.

  1. Click Backup Settings to open the Backup Settings page.
  2. Specify the Backup directory in the text field.
  3. Select the Fail if not mounted remotely option if you want the Backup and Restore page to show an error message if the remotely mounted directory is not mounted.

The last option is especially useful if it is important that the backups are stored away from the server.

Restoring a backup

  1. Set up a new server with a clean installation of StruxureWare Data Center Operation.
  2. Login to the web client for the new server on which you want to restore the backup, the user should have the System Configuration permission.
  3. Navigate to the Backup and Restore page.
  4. Select an uploaded backup file and click Restore selected backup.
    If the backup you want to restore is not in the list, upload the file as described below.

Note

A restore will wipe all current data.

Info

If you have upgraded to 7.4.X or above, note that when restoring a backup the ETL external system integration jobs are not started automatically. You have to enable ETL again after the restore:

  1. After the restore start the client, open the export configuration, and select the new export job (without psql in the name). 

  2. Drop all tables in the export database.

  3. Resume the job in Webmin.

 

 

Uploading a backup

Open Webmin.
If you are working with a cluster environment, type the virtual IP address of the cluster server.

  1. Login to the web client.
  2. Navigate to the Backup and Restore page.
  3. Click the Upload to backup.
  4. In Files to upload, browse to the location of your saved backup.
    Make sure the file format is: <name><yyyy-mm-dd><hh.mm>.tar.gz

Backing up a cluster environment

If you are running Data Center Operation in a cluster environment, only the slave nodes will run the backup.

Recommendation

Save backups to a remote location and schedule backup on all slave nodes. Configure each node to run the backup at different times to avoid conflicts.

Restoring a backup in a cluster environment

The restore process may be started on any cluster node. However, restoring on the master node will be fastest.

Note

The Webmin Status page must be open during the entire process.

  1. The cluster node to which you are restoring (preferably the master) stops running.
  2. The other nodes all stops one by one, until all nodes in the cluster are stopped.
  3. When the database restore has been completed, the nodes start up again one by one.
  4. The solution has been restored and the cluster is functional again.

Testing backup

You should verify that the backup runs as expected. You can purchase an enterprise backup agent for PostgreSQL, or you can verify the backup in Webmin.
The backup file size provides a good indication, and if you have scheduled daily backups, you can check that this is included in the file name.

  1. In Webclient, select Administration > Backup and Restore.
  2. In the list of backup files, verify that the size of the backup seems reasonable, and that the file name includes the prefix Daily_ if you scheduled to run the backup every day.

Cleaning up old backups

In Webclient Administration > Backup and Restore > Backup Settings, you can configure cleanup frequency of old backups.

  1. Specify whether to clean up and how often:
    • Disable: Never clean up
    • Days to keep backups: Delete files older than the specified amount of days
    • Click Save Settings.
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata
RELATED COMMUNITY QUESTIONS
WAS THIS ARTICLE HELPFUL?